• Blog Categories

  • del.icio.us links

Harold and Kumar go to Guatanamo

Posted Date: December 28, 2007

Nope, it’s no joke…it’s a real movie, coming out in April.  And NPH makes another cameo…awesome.

Speaking of movies, I saw Terry Gilliam’s “Tideland”, and I’m still digesting it.  On one hand, I think it’s a masterpiece.  It’s unconventional, surreal, and has an amazing lead and perfect supporting characters.  On the other hand, it’s creepy and feels exploitative, even though objectively it is not.  I see a lot of parallels between this movie and “Oasis”, which is one of my top 10 favorite films.  Whether that counts for or against “Tideland”, I can’t decide.  At this point I would I rate it a very VERY interesting failure, and a fine addition to the Gilliam canon.

Regarding the “I Stole Jesus” story, did anybody notice that the doll is WHITE and has BLONDE hair?  Does anybody care?  The anti-Semitism in Christianity comes out in both subtle and not so subtle ways.

Yipes….I think I’ve watched too many movies set in distopian futures, because these billboards really bothers me.

Impeach the fourthbranch!

RIP, Benazi Bhutto!

Leave a Reply

