• Blog Categories

  • del.icio.us links

The iTunes Killer: Amazon MP3

Posted Date: September 25, 2007 – Tuesday – 2:55 PM
Amazon has announced the beta release of a massive online music store:

“Every song and album on Amazon MP3 is available exclusively in the MP3 format without digital rights management (DRM) software. This means that Amazon MP3 customers are free to enjoy their music downloads using any hardware device, including PCs, Macs, iPods, Zunes, Zens, iPhones, RAZRs, and BlackBerrys; organize their music using any music management application such as iTunes or Windows Media Player; and burn songs to CDs.”

I’d also add my new LG Chocolate cell phone to the list.  In fact, any electronic music player will work with mp3s.  This is to compare to iTunes music, which can only be played on the iPod.

For anybody who has read my blog with any regularity knows how I feel about DRM, so this is a huge win.  I’m already getting my indie music from emusic.com, and now I can get the mainstream stuff from Amazon.

Woot!  Now if only I can find some decent major label music…any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

