• Blog Categories

  • del.icio.us links

Kill Your Television

Having taken the last 6 months or so off, I had plenty of daylight hours to burn, only a small portion of which I used to do anything productive. Rather, I went through a period of “high inertia”, did some great internet surfing and T.V. watching.

Somehow I managed to make it through 63 episodes of Six Feet Under, an absolutely top notch HBO series. This is some of the BEST television ever made, IMO. And I watched all of Futurama, from beginning to end, and watched the new movie. Another amazing show. House is back and better than ever.

I watched American Gladiator. Wolf. Helga. Oh. Yeah.

I watched all the new Doctor Who, and the spinoff. Not to be flaimbait, but Torchwood is better. Way better; it’s better than most American TV shows. Still not as good as Red Drawf. Speaking of space shows, I watched some old Star Trek TNG and Voyager, TNG doesn’t age well, and Voyager isn’t far behind. But 7 of 9…yeah, that was a great idea; insert lame”Assimilate me!” joke here. Borgs are so cool.

Sci Fi/Fantasy is gaining in popularity, especially shows set in the present that contain fantastical Must see TV includes Heroes, Lost, and Jericho. Good TV includes Eureka and Moonlight. Even canceled shows like Journeyman and 4400 delivered with good characters and good storytelling, just not picking up the viewers in this online age.

I just watched the new Knight Rider premier. Yet again the car is by far the most well developed and three dimensional character. There are many other new shows worth checking out. Breaking Bad is a must watch. Californication proves that Duchovny’s still got it in ‘im. Weeds isn’t new anymore, but it took a few seasons to catch on. Burn Notice is lots of fun.

As a poker player I really enjoy Poker After Dark, as it shows you a large percentage of the hands. This helps you get a feel for the gameplay, making it more nuanced and realistic instead of a final table all-in shove fest. High Stakes Poker is also lots of fun.
I saw quite a few good miniseries. The Lost Room was good creepy fun. Rome was completely outstanding, some more BEST TV. The Nova Series on Evolution is a must watch for anybody who wants to make an informed decision on Intelligent Design vs. Evolution.

I can’t highly enough recommend the Nova episodes The Mind’s Big Bang and What About God. The first covers the evolution of consciousness and memetics, the second is a intense and surprisingly non-judgmental documentary on a private Evangelical liberal arts college in Illinois. Students at Wheaton College are taught that Science and Christianity are basically not at odds with each other. This claim comes under direct fire, as many of the students here were raised to believe in Biblical inerrancy, including a 6 day creation and the historical existence of Adam and Eve. So needless to say, the topics of Evolution, Higher Criticism, and Genetics are fraught with peril.

I would add that so are are Geology, Physics, Meteorology, Astronomy, and the Scientific Method at its very basis, but that’s just me. Very interesting and educational television.

8 Responses

  1. tv is for women and losers

  2. Torchwood is for housewives and little girls. With that said, I’m a fan of your work

  3. Cool post, you’ve given me some things to look out for.

    House is great.

    I’ve not heard of Touchwood but really miss Red Dwarf.

    The original Star Trek has probably aged better than TNG considering its age which brings me to Boston Legal. Old Bill Shatner play a great part as Denny Crane.

  4. Sounds like you have it in the bag. Welcome to my life, lol.

    I love Futurama! I did read that there were indeed new movies being made, but I haven’t gotten a chance to check them out yet.

    I’m especially excited about Lost. Abc.com has all four seasons (well, they’re on the fourth season, of course) of the show available to watch in HD for free. House can now be watched on the Fox website for the first time (this season, anyway), when before that wasn’t possible because it was made by NBC Universals. Didn’t make much sense to me, but at any rate, I’m glad they struck a new deal.

    If you still have extra time, take it from a girl who has way too much: Check out sites like ovguide.com and sidereel.com (look for links with vids hosted—not downloads—on places like sidereel and/or divx, which are typically reliable with limited loading times and good quality) and search for tv shows like Sliders (sigh, I loved the nineties) and Firefly (go to sidereel, links via divx, for those)

    Firefly won’t disappoint. The show got canceled after only 14 episodes because Fox had to screw things up by making them show some episodes out of order, so no one had any clue what was going on, but it’s brilliant and awesome nonetheless.

  5. My TV is dead and Im veeeery happy

  6. So…you don’t advocate the killing of one’s television at all then, but rather using it to watch as wide a variety of television programming as possible? I’m just messing with you man, I appreciate that you are looking out for those of us who are stuck watching the same old crap day after day.

  7. treadmarkz,

    I had no idea blogging about TV would be so popular. I’m always blogging about “important” stuff and nobody gives a shit.

    In regards to watching TV shows and “Kill your Television”, All I can say is I didn’t watch a single one of the these shows on my TV. Power to the people.

    Nick, I’m fully aware that Torchwood is for little girls and housewives. I still like it, though

  8. I know what you mean about nobody giving a shit about the important stuff. I mean my readers seem to be zoned in on one very important story I have been following, but it seems like the rest gets lost. Glad to hear you are having the same trouble. hehe. It’s all up in the air in the blogosphere, mate.

Leave a Reply

